Songs in the attic – Sexual Gypsy and You Are My Sunshine

Posted: September 30, 2011 in Cover Songs, Original Songs

It’s been a while since I’ve had the time to record any songs.  I know the recording is crappy, and in the two videos below you may hear a train or the sound of rain on the roof.  Hopefully you enjoy.

Sexual Gypsy is an original song written by me and Matt Mikeska.  We were in his garage one day trying to write a song with no luck.  He went into the house for a moment, and I started fiddling around on the octaves you hear at the beginning.  By the time he had come back I was doing the do-do-do-do-do’s.  I said, “Ok, lets get started writing something.”  He asked, “What the heck are you playing… it’s pretty cool.”

We had no idea where to go with the tune for a minute.  I suggested that we name the song and then work backwards.  Matt replied, “Hey, let’s call it Sexual Gypsy.”  That was all that we needed, and the rest of the song came very quickly.

 

The next video is my version of You Are My Sunshine.  I should probably be busy recording my own tunes, but I really like this one.

Thanks for watching!  If you like the videos please visit on Youtube, comment, like, favorite, or whatever.

Comments
  1. matt mikeska says:

    hey jim whats the haps bro? good lord how are you doing, been awhile. ran into this wonderful rendition of sexual gypsy, its good to see it being done justice. dont be a stranger.

Leave a Reply

